Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

I had the pleasure of hosting my friend Sara’s 7th birthday.  We filled sterling silver candy dishes with sprinkles, Swedish Fish, Sno Caps and Gummy Bears, which the girls created delicious works of art, and yes there is frosting under all that candy.  Sara first thought she wanted vanilla frosting, which I made, but last minute she wanted to mix it up and have chocolate – how could I say no.  My classic buttercream with melted bittersweet turned out so well, I thought it was worth sharing.

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 to 5 cups powdered sugar (more if you want a stiffer frosting)

6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled

  • In a standing mixer, combine the cream cheese, butter and vanilla – mix until well combined and fluffy
  • Turn the mixer on the lowest setting slowly add the melted chocolate, increase speed and mix until well incorporated
  • Refrigerate until ready to use

Leave a comment